Thanksgiving and other thoughts

18 Nov

Ben, Hannah and I at the pumpkin patch. Hard not to be thankful for such blessings!

It is getting close to Thanksgiving and I have been working lately on being more aware of the blessings that I have in my life. I know this sounds more than a little “chick” like, but let’s face it, after nearly half my life in an elementary school, surrounded by women of all types, certain traits seems to brush off onto me, like it or not. So anyway, I have been thinking about the things that I have to be thankful for and it is a pretty awesome list.

Sure, there are the normal things. I am thankful for my family, for a wife that is wonderful, for children that are healthy, and for a home that is warm. When so many people are out of work, or forced to work at jobs that they do not like, I am thankful for a job, and a job that I truly love to boot. I am thankful that my Mom taught me how to cook (so is WW) and I am thankful for the internet which allows me to quickly look up how to make sausage gravy so my son and I can share our love of biscuits and gravy. I am thankful for the ability to control my desire for biscuits and gravy and I am thankful for Sunday football, a diet Coke, and a fire in the fireplace. I am thankful that my children love to be active. I am thankful for my daughter’s zest for life, and my son’s thoughtful demeanor. I am thankful that my daughter loves every sport she does, and that my son rocks at soccer!

But those who are teachers know that teaching is a job that does not stop when the kids leave at the end of the day. No, teaching, like so many other professions, goes way beyond the work day. I am thankful for working in a school where I am allowed to be creative, and where my excitement for science and math are not seen as an oddity, but instead seen as a good thing. I am thankful to teach with people who understand me and accept me and see that I have something to offer kids. I am thankful for a principal who does not question when she walks into my classroom and sees kids playing with popcorn (we were doing a lesson on density, thank you very much!). I am thankful for colleagues I can trust, colleagues I can question, and colleagues I can laugh with. I am thankful for a classroom full of kids who are willing to go along for the ride, to trust that even though it is hard,  it will be possible. I am thankful for parents who are supportive and for the freedom to explore.

But mostly I am thankful for naps. I love naps. As a matter of fact, I am going to take one now. Good night and Happy Thanksgiving.

4 Responses to “Thanksgiving and other thoughts”

  1. Jennifer Long November 21, 2012 at 6:06 AM #

    Hi Tim!
    I just found your blog through Farley’s November Currently! I work at a building where my principal trusts me too…and I’m super grateful for it! Not sure what I would do if I couldn’t disguise all of those common core standards with a little fun and creativity!

    • timsclassroom November 21, 2012 at 6:15 PM #

      Thanks for the note Jennifer! I have worked for a couple of principals who did not seem to get the idea that creativity was a good thing. Instead they thought good teaching was having 30 kids on page 30 doing problems 1-30. Nearly drove me crazy! Actually, it nearly drove me out of teaching all together. Thankfully I found my current principal at just the right time. She saw in me something that I did not even see. She not only sees that creativity is important, but that it is critical to student success.

      Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. Come on back to my blog often. Tim

  2. Annathy November 21, 2012 at 6:23 PM #

    I am glad there are teachers like you. I had a few of those myself through my school years. I too like naps. I take one almost every day during lunch hour. The only thing missing is chocolate milk and a mat. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

    • timsclassroom November 21, 2012 at 6:26 PM #

      I wish I could take one each day, but alas it doesn’t work for me. That just makes it sweeter when I can take one. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

